Clay-Crawford-Jasper-Lawrence-Richland Regional Board of School Trustees Regular Meeting October 2, 2023 5:30 P.M. Regional Office of Education #12 407 South Whittle, Olney, IL 62450

The Regional Board of School Trustees held a regular meeting at 5:30 p.m. on October 2, 2023, in the Regional Office of Education #12, 407 South Whittle, Olney, IL 62450 Chairman Travis Farley called the meeting to order at 5:31 p.m. Tammy Hertenstein called the roll as follows:

Roll Call:

Present:

Travis Farley, Jasper County Gene Allen, Lawrence County Kaye Holscher, Crawford County Marilyn Holt, Richland County Julia New, Lawrence County Sheila Mikeworth, Crawford County Bob Pierson, Clay County

Others Present:

Jeremy Brush, Ex-Officio Secretary; Tammy Hertenstein, ROE #12 Administrative Assistant; Joyce Lawrence, Court Reporter; Bill Thomas, Attorney for the Iffert Petition, Aaron Leonard, Taylor Law Office, attorney for the Knapp Petition, Cathy Croy, Clay City Superintendent; Joe Sornberger, Jasper Co Schools Superintendent.

Julia New made a motion to approve the minutes from the 7-6-23 meeting, seconded by Bob Pierson. Kaye Holscher made a motion to approve the minutes from the 8/7/23 meeting, seconded by Marilyn Holt. A roll call vote to approve the minutes resulted in 7 in favor and 0 opposed. The minutes were approved.

The Regional Board of Trustees members introduced themselves and the area they represent.

Hearing Officer Jeremy Brush presided over the Knapp Petition Hearing. The Petition to be heard was to detach territory from Flora Unit #35 and annex same territory to North Clay Unit #25 by Bryan & Ashley Knapp and Petitioners were represented by Aaron Leonard, Attorney at Law with Taylor Law Office. North Clay Unit #25 and Flora Unit #35 were not represented.

Roll Call:

Present:

Travis Farley, Jasper County Gene Allen, Lawrence County Kaye Holscher, Crawford County Marilyn Holt, Richland County Julia New, Lawrence County Sheila Mikeworth, Crawford County Bob Pierson, Clay County

All present were given the opportunity to present testimony. Charles and Ashley Knapp were sworn in and presented testimony. Mr. Leonard presented a written statement by the Knapps to the board and entered it as Petitioner's Exhibit 1.

Using Case Law and School Code, the Board considered testimony and the exhibits presented. Following consideration by the Board, Marilyn Holt made a motion to approve the petition, seconded by Gene Allen. A roll call vote was taken. Board members were instructed that a yes vote indicated they approved granting the petition; a no vote indicated they did not approve granting the petition.

Roll Call:

Travis Farley	yes
Gene Allen	yes
Kaye Holscher	yes
Marilyn Hol	yes
Julia New	yes
Sheila Mikeworth	yes
Bob Pierson	yes

Based upon the Board vote, the petition was granted with 7 yes votes, 0 no votes.

This is a summary statement as required by the Illinois School Code: A complete record of all matters and votes taken are contained in the transcript prepared by the Court Reporter which is on file in the office of the Regional Superintendent.

The Regional Board of Trustees members introduced themselves and the area they represent. Tammy Hertenstein called the roll as follows:

Hearing Officer Jeremy Brush presided over the Iffert Petition Hearing.

Roll Call:

Travis Farley, Jasper County Gene Allen, Lawrence County Kaye Holscher, Crawford County Marilyn Holt, Richland County Julia New, Lawrence County Sheila Mikeworth, Crawford County Bob Pierson, Clay County

The Petition to be heard was to detach territory from Clay City #10 and annex same territory to Jasper County CUSD #1 filed by Derek & Kasey Iffert, Petitioners. Petitioners were represented by William Thomas, Attorney at Law. Clay City CUSD #10 was represented by Cathy Croy, Superintendent. Jasper County Schools were represented by Joe Sornberger, superintendent.

All present were given the opportunity to present testimony. Derek & Kasey Iffert were sworn in and presented testimony. Cathy Croy had no response. Joe Sornberger stated that according to their attorney, when the Buerster Petition passed and that property was annexed, the Iffert property then became contiguous.

Using Case Law and School Code, the Board considered testimony and the exhibits presented. Following consideration by the Board, Bob Pierson made a motion to approve the petition, seconded by Julia New. A roll call vote was taken. Board members were instructed that a yes vote indicated they approved granting the petition; a no vote indicated they did not approve granting the petition.

Roll Call:

Travis Farley	yes
Gene Allen	yes
Kaye Holscher	yes
Marilyn Holt	yes
Julia New	yes
Sheila Mikeworth	yes
Bob Pierson	ves

Based upon the Board vote, the petition was approved with 7 yes votes and 0 no votes.

This is a summary statement as required by the Illinois School Code: A complete record of all matters and votes taken are contained in the transcript prepared by the Court Reporter which is on file in the office of the Regional Superintendent.

Jeremy Brush then updated the board members on the Barmes petition. He stated that the family has now left their residence and relocated to Oblong. Cole Shaner, Crawford County State's Attorney, will be meeting with representatives from the Hutsonville and Oblong school districts to decide how to proceed with this matter.

Jeremy Brush notified the board he had received an Appeal for the Mette petition. Cole Shaner, Crawford County State's Attorney, will be representing the Regional Board in this matter.

The board then discussed the possibility of an agreement between school boards to help with the annexation/detachment process. Marilyn Holt agreed to reach out to an attorney in Chicago that is familiar with this type of agreement for further information.

The subject of the appeal process for the annexations was discussed amongst the board members. Travis Farley made the motion "Any appeals will go directly to the circuit court". The motion was seconded by Julia New. A roll call vote was taken.

Roll Call:

Travis Farley	Yes
Gene Allen	Yes
Kaye Holscher	Yes
Marilyn Holt	Yes
Julia New	Yes
Sheila Mikeworth	Yes
Bob Pierson	Yes

Based upon the Board vote, the motion was approved with 7 yes votes and 0 no votes.

The meeting set for Monday, January 8th, 2024 is canceled. The next meeting will be April 1st, 2024 at 5:30 p.m. with the location to be determined.

Bob Pierson made a motion to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Julia New. All were in favor. None opposed. The meeting was adjourned at 7:04 p.m.

fficio Secretary

9. x. ZY