Clay-Crawford-Jasper-Lawrence-Richland
Regional Board of School Trustees
Special Meeting
August 22, 2022 - 7:00 p.m.
Regional Office of Education #12
ROE 12 PD Training Center
Second Floor
300 West Main Street, Robinson, Illinois

The Regional Board of School Trustees held a Special meeting at 7:00 p.m. on August 22, 2022, in the Regional Office of Education #12, ROE 12 PD Training Center, Second Floor, 300 West Main Street, Robinson, Illinois

Chairman Travis Farley called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Roll Call:

Present:

Gene Allen, Lawrence County
Travis Farley, Jasper County
Sheila Mikeworth, Crawford County
Julia New, Lawrence County
Kaye Holscher, Crawford County
Marilyn Holt, Richland County
Absent:
Bob Pierson, Clay County

Others Present:

Monte Newlin, Ex-Officio Secretary; Corrie Ray, Assistant Regional Superintendent; Tammy Hertenstein, ROE #12 Administrative Assistant; Joyce Lawrence, Court Reporter; Eugene Hanses, Jr., Attorney for Hutsonville CUSD #1; Julie Kraemer, Hutsonville CUSD #1 Superintendent; Chad Weaver, President of Hutsonville CUSD #1 Board of Education; Travis Titsworth, Assistant Superintendent, Hutsonville CUSD #1, Tanner & Alaina Barmes, Petitioners; William Thomas, Attorney for Petitioners, Loretta Gallion, Thomas Law Firm

Travis Farley presided over the meeting. The meeting was to hear a Motion for Rehearing by Hutsonville CUSD #1 regarding the Barmes et. al. Petition.

Petitioners were represented by Attorney William Thomas. Hutsonville CUSD #1 was represented by Attorney Eugene Hanses, Jr.

Eugene Hanses, representing Hutsonville CUSD #1, presented his case as to why the Board should grant a rehearing. William Thomas, representing the petitioners, responded as to why the Board should not grant a rehearing.

The Board considered testimony and the exhibits presented. Following consideration by the Board, Gene Allen made a motion to approve rehearing the petition, seconded by Kaye Holscher. A roll call vote was taken. Board members were instructed that a yes vote indicated they approved rehearing the petition; a no vote indicated they did not approve rehearing the petition.

Roll Call:

Travis Farley No
Sheila Mikeworth No
Julia New No
Kaye Holscher No
Marilyn Holt Yes
Bob Pierson Absent
Gene Allen Yes

Based upon the Board vote, the petition was denied with 2 yes votes and 4 votes, and one absent.

This is a summary statement as required by the Illinois School Code: A complete record of all matters and votes taken are contained in the transcript prepared by the Court Reporter.

Julia New made a motion to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Gene Allen. All were in favor. None opposed. The meeting was adjourned at 8:10 p.m.

Travis Farley, Chairman

 $\frac{5/19.73}{\text{Date}}$

Monte Newlin, Ex-Officio Secretary

5-15-23